History of the Foundation

View grantees in the Image Library

International Symposium #101
Top: J. Williams, A. Forge, B. Allen, D. Gewertz, F. Errington, N. McDowell, M. Wuersch, W. Foley, S. Lindenbaum, D. Lipset, B. Hauser-Schaublin Bottom: L. Osmundsen, N.Watson, P. Roscoe, S. Harrison, F. da Silva, R. Scaglion, O. Nekitel, M. Schindlbeck, P. Swadling, G. Lewis, C. Filer, N. Lutkehaus

February 15 - 23, 1986
Hotel Mijas, Mijas, Spain

PUBLICATION: Sepik Heritage:  Tradition and Change in Papua New Guinea (N. Lutkehaus, C. Kaufmann, W.E. Mitchell, D. Newton, L. Osmundsen, M. Schuster, Eds.) Carolina Academic Press, Durham, North Carolina, 1990


bookcoverBryant J. Allen (Australian National University)
Frederick Errington (Keene State College, USA)
Colin S. Filer (University of Papua New Guinea)
William A. Foley (Australian National University)
Anthony Forge, organizer (Australian National University)
Deborah Gewertz (Amherst College, USA)
Simon J. Harrison (University of Ulster, UK)
Brigitta Hauser-Schaublin (Museum fur Volkerkunde, Switzerland)
Gilbert Lewis (University of Cambridge, UK)
Shirley Lindenbaum (New School for Social Research, USA)
David Lipset (University of Minnesota, USA)
Nancy Lutkehaus (University of Southern California, USA)
Nancy McDowell (Franklin and Marshall College, USA)
Otto Nekitel (University of Papua New Guinea)
Lita Osmundsen (Wenner-Gren Foundation, USA)
Paul Roscoe (University of Maine, USA)
Richard Scaglion (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Markus Schindlbeck (Museum fur Volkerkunde, West Germany)
Milan Stanek (National Museum Houseboat, Papua New Guinea)
Pamela Swadling (Papua New Guinea National Museum)
Jason Williams (New York University, USA)


The conference focused on innovation and creativity, using as its vehicle the Sepik region of Papua New Guinea. This area is renowned for a linguistic and cultural diversity surpassing any other culture area in the world, and until recently it was precisely this diversity that was underscored in Sepik research. Yet this tendency toward particularism has always been counterpointed by the e