History of the Foundation

View grantees in the Image Library

Sepik Research Today: The Study of Sepik Cultures in and for Modern Papua New Guinea

International Symposium #95 Group Photo
Reclining; C.S. Filer Sitting 1st Row: H. Peter, S. Eoe, Z. Enda, P. Roscoe, J. Wasori, J. Wassmann, S. Harrison, D. Losche, C. Dambui, B. Craig Sitting 2nd Row: M. Stanek, F. Weiss, B. Obrist Sitting 3rd Row: V. Keck, M. Schindlbeck, B. Allen Standing: D. Lipset, P. Swadling, T.C. Aitken, I. Bell, A.Forge, D. Newton, R.Bowden, P. May, M. Smith, N. Lutkehaus, L. Bragge, D. Gewertz, R. May, A. Strathern, B. Huber-Greub, J. Sengi, L. Osmundsen, D. Lea Standing steps 1st row: P. Townsend, M. Williamson, M. Tuckson, G. Lewis, M.Schuster, F. Errington Standing steps 2nd row: S. Josephides, N. McDowell, R. Scaglion, T. Dye Standing steps 3rd row: M. Taylor, B. Hauser-Schaublin Standing steps 4th row: D. Smidt, C. Kaufmann, W. Stoklin, H. Philsooph, A. Crawford, R. Metraux, N. Stephenson, G. Spearritt, W. Mitchell, D. Tuzin, C. Coiffier, P. Huber, B. Luem, C. Haiveta, J. Williams, D. Laycock Not Pictured: A. Kelm, G. Schuster, J. Schmid, B. Jullerat, S. Ohnemus, N. Watson, C. Kocher-Schmid

August 19 - 26, 1984
Basel, Switzerland

PUBLICATION:    Sepik Heritage:  Tradition and Change in Papua New Guinea (N. Lutkehaus, C. Kaufmann, W.E. Mitchell, D. Newton, L. Osmundsen, M. Schuster, Eds.) Carolina Academic Press, Durham, North Carolina, 1990.


bookcoverT.C. Aitken (Brisbane College of Advanced Education, Australia)
Bryant J. Allen (Australian National University)
Ross D. Bowden (La Trobe University, Australia)
Lawrence W. Bragge (Independent Scholar, Australia)
Christian Coiffier (Laboratory for Anthropology and Architecture, France)
Barry Craig (Independent Scholar, Papua New Guinea)
Anthony Crawford (Robert Brown and Associates, Australia)
Cherubim Dambui (East Sepik Provincial Government, Papua New Guinea)
T. Wayne Dye (Summer Institute of Linguistics, Papua New Guinea)
Zachary Enda (West Sepik Province Government, Papua New Guinea)
Frederick Errington (Mount Holyoke College, USA)
Soroi Marepo Eoe (National Museum and Art Gallery, Papua New Guinea)
C.S. Filer (University of Papua New Guinea)
Anthony Forge (Australian National University)
Deborah Gewertz (Amherst College, USA)
Chris Haiveta (Gulf Provincial Government, Papua New Guinea)
Simon J. Harrison (University of Ulster, UK)
Brigitta Hauser-Schäublin (Basel University, Switzerland)
Peter Huber (Stuart Ford, Inc., USA)
Barbara Huber-Greub (University of Basel, Switzerland)
Sasha Josephides (University of Warwick, UK)
Bernard Juillerat (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
Christian Kaufmann, organizer (Museum für Völkerkunde, Switzerland)
Antje Kelm (Hamburgisches Museum für Völkerkunde, Germany)
Donald C. Laycock (Australian National University)
David Lea (University of New England, Australia)
Gilbert Lewis (University of Cambridge, UK)
David Lipset (University of California-San Diego, La Jolla, USA)
Diane Losche (Australian Museum, Macquarie University, Australia)
Nancy Lutkehaus, organizer (Columbia University, USA)
Patricia May (Australian National University)
Ronald J. May (Australian National University)
Nancy McDowell (Franklin and Marshall College, USA)
Rhoda Métraux (American Museum of Natural History, USA)
William Mitchell, organizer (University of Vermont, USA)
Douglas Newton, organizer (Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA)
Brigit Obrist (University of Basel, Switzerland)
Lita Osmundsen, organizer (Wenner-Gren Foundation, USA)
Hanns Peter (Museum für Völkerkunde, Austria)
Hushang Philsooph (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Paul Roscoe (American Museum of Natural History, USA)
Richard Scaglion (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Markus Schindlbeck (Museum für Völkerkunde, West Germany)
Jurg Schmid (Universität Basel, Switzerland)
Gisela Schuster (Universität Basel, Switzerland)
Meinhard Schuster, organizer (Universität Basel, Switzerland)
Johathan Sengi (East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea)
Dirk Smidt (Rijksmuseum voor Volkenkunde, The Netherlands)
Michael French Smith (Public Sector Consultants, Inc., USA)
Gordon Spearritt (University of Queensland, Australia)
Milan Stanek (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
Werner Stöcklin-Frey (Swiss Tropical Institute, Switzerland)
Andrew Strathern (Institute of Papua New Guinea Studies)
Pamela Swadling (National Museum, Papua New Guinea)
Mary Taylor (Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton, USA)
Patricia Townsend (Institute of Applied Social and Economic Research, Papua New Guinea)
Margaret Tuckson (The Pottery, Wahroonga, Australia)
Donald F. Tuzin (University of California-San Diego, La Jolla, USA)
John Wasori (East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea)
Jürg Wassmann (Universität Basel, Switzerland)
Florence Weiss (Universität Basel, Switzerland)
Margaret Williamson (Mary Washington College, USA)


The idea of the conference, as gradually devel­oped and eventually expressed in its subtitle "The Study of Sepik Cultures in and for Modem Papua New Guinea," was to offer a framework for re­flecting, through precirculate